November, Movember, NaNoWriMo, and Chocolate

IT’S NOVEMBER. You know what that means! (Besides Movember and eating mass amounts of leftover Halloween candy, that is.) It’s National Novel Writing Month — perhaps better known as NaNoWriMo. Are you ready to pour out 50 000 words in 30 days? Are you prepared to write 1 666.6666 words every day for one month?

I’m not. I love the idea of NaNoWriMo, the idea of just writing everyday in a community of people doing the same thing. I know some people take it seriously, and others do it for fun, and I know many participants sign up without the purpose of “winning.” I considered actually signing up this year, but I’m such a competitive person I know I would probably end up frustrating myself with the fact that there’s no possible way I can write a novel in a month. I’m too busy. I don’t have enough time.

So instead of totally abandoning the concept, I’m doing my own little writing fest, which I know many others are celebrating as well, in conjunction with NaNoWriMo. I’m calling it National Write Something Everyday Month. Unlike in NaNoWriMo, where the math dictates an average of 1 666 words a day, I’m just going to write something. Whether it be a short story for my upcoming anthology (June 2014) or a paragraph for my WIP or a creative list of things to do, I’m writing something, anything everyday for the month of November.

Yesterday I wrote the brainstorm for this post. Today I wrote this post and have a couple paragraphs intended for this evening. Tomorrow it could be a poem and maybe the next day I’ll come up with a really clever sentence. Just a sentence. Just one. But it will be something, and that’s what NaWriSoEvMo is about.

Something.

Are any of you participating in NaNoWriMo, or is NaWriSoEvMo more your style?

Enjoy your Halloween candy, and your mustaches!

4 thoughts on “November, Movember, NaNoWriMo, and Chocolate

  1. NaWriSoEvMo is doable. Like you I could not even try NaNoWriMo. It just wouldn”t work and would frustrate me. But I can write something everyday. Great idea. Thanks!

    1. Writing something is better than becoming frustrated and beating yourself up because you can’t meet the stated word count. There are days I write 1,500 words, and days I struggle to reach 500. The key is to write every day, as you say, this may be only a wonderful sentence, but it’s something, and it keeps the electrodes in the brains connected with the written word. When the pathway becomes overgrown, it can be difficult to reopen it.

      I’m not participating in this month’s writing challenge either. Still, I’ll write more than 30,000 words this month, and I’ll do it again next month and the month after that. But even if I wrote only 100 words a day, after 365 days, I’d have a novella written.

      1. I completely understand what you mean about keeping the creative pathway clear. It’s easier to write once there’s a flow to work with.
        Writing everyday is harder than I always thought, but I’m really going to work at it this month. The last few days have been unproductive, though, as I had dental surgery this week and the drugs are making me a little foggy! Here’s to writing everyday in the future! 🙂

Please, leave a comment!

