Sorry for the personal content, but on behalf of small-breasted women…

Speaking as a member of the “flat chested” population of young women, I’m used to jokes about being smaller than the average B cup. (Or A cup, for that matter.) I participate in these jokes, too, because I’m confident enough in my own body to make fun of it. I make fun of my knees, too, all in jest*.

Society has it in our heads that women need breasts, preferably medium-sized to large ones. This is why $1.1 BILLION is spent on breast augmentation every year. Sure. That’s great. I have no opinion, positive or negative, on breast implants or the reasons women decide to get them. It’s not something I’ll ever do, but I am totally respecting any other ladies out there who want to enlarge their…ladies.

But here’s my issue. Being someone who is far from top-heavy, this happens a couple of times a year, usually by people who are an easy C or D cup — they express their feelings of sympathy for my “unfortunate” breast size. Things like, it’s okay, or don’t feel bad, or (my favourite) I’m sure you’ll find someone who loves you for you.

One, I’m sad that people think I’m sad about being “small.” They seem more sad about it than I do. Two, why would I feel bad? I love my body, as everyone should. And three, I really hope someone out there, in a world of 7 billion people, will love me for me and not how much my chest sticks out.

Why feel bad for small-breasted women? Expressing your sympathy about their bra size is not only unfounded (we carry less weight around, can run with more ease, and I’m sure we’ll have an easier time in our older years) but also could be detrimental to a young woman’s self image and self esteem. For me, that’s not the case, but there are thousands of other young women out there who would take a simple, careless comment like, “It’s okay you’re only a 32A, someone will love you for you” and interpret it as not being “good enough.”

The main purpose of breasts is to feed our young. Small breasted women can still perform this biological function with just as much efficiency as larger women. I know many males (and females) would argue the intrigue of the breast is much more than nourishing a hungry infant, but that’s a post for another time.

So don’t tell a woman who might be considered “flat chested” that it’s okay, or that someone will love them anyway. Of course it’s okay, and of course someone will love them! Sharing these feelings from a D perspective could make them feel undesirable, not to mention uncomfortable. There are a select group of people a woman will tolerate talking about the size of her breasts (normally restricted to mothers, embarrassing aunts, close friends, and romantic partners), and it might not be you.

On behalf of small breasted women, stop feeling bad for us. We’re fine. We’re better than fine. We can get away with things like running without having to change into a sports bra. Or maybe not wear bras at all. Aren’t we lucky?

And to quote an old saying in my family, “More than a handful is a waste.”**

*(Note the difference of poking fun at yourself and putting  yourself down.)

**That was not an invitation. Keep your hands to yourself.

Her breasts are pretty small. I don’t hear anyone expressing their sympathy for her being a beautiful piece of art.
4 thoughts on “Sorry for the personal content, but on behalf of small-breasted women…

  1. I have a number of friends of the larger bosom variety that have had to undergo breast reduction surgery, It is I that feels sorry for them. I’m quite comfortable with my smaller than average breasts. A number of people love me, actually.

    1. We of the smaller variety have a lot less to worry about in terms of maintenance and general health.
      I’m lucky to have a number of people who love me, too. 🙂

  2. I’ve never been one to automatically agree with society, and this is one area in which I don’t. I am the other way. When I see a large-breasted woman, I feel sorry for her. Not only is she carrying around all that extra weight which puts a strain on her back, she can’t do a lot of normal things comfortably, such as sleep on her stomach, run like heck and fit into a blouse she may love because there’s not enough give across the chest.

    But that’s not the worst part. It’s attracting men who are only attracted to the two bumps on her chest. How many big-busted women have been led on by men who want to only see her lumps up close and person? Must be difficult to find someone who cares for you instead of the protruding cantaloupes that enter a room first.

    So women out there with big breasts, or just a little bigger than normal, I feel sorry for you. I hope you can still enjoy life, particularly when the bags of sugar become lumps of coal in your old age and sag onto you belly.

    The cruel thing in life is that I used to be much smaller. Three breast-fed kids later and, well, I’m a cup size higher. I’m hoping when the excess weight is lost, they will shrink. Now that’s motivation for losing weight.

    Libby, you’re perfect the way you are, and when someone tosses out one of those insensitive comments, remember, they’re the ones feeling uncomfortable with their body and must wear that restrictive slingshot. Gosh, to go braless would be freedom. I haven’t felt that in more than thirty years.

    1. I completely agree with everything you’ve just said, Diane! When people love me, for whatever reason, I’m certain it’s not for my chest. We small women are luckier that way for sure.

      Restrictive slingshot. That’s the best term I’ve ever heard for a bra, and it’s entirely accurate!

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Diane. 🙂

Please, leave a comment!

