Sneak Peak: THE NIGHT IS STARRY

They're finished!
They’re finished!

Yesterday I picked up my anthologies from the printer. They are things of beauty. I mean, I did find one typo in them so far, but…the Typo Gods are never totally unforgiving. And I can fix it for the digital edition (which is closer to being published!). Info on where to get a print copy will be posted soon! In the mean time, here’s a sneak peek of what’s inside. This is a poem called BONES.

***

Angles, steep

Tracing over the bones

Holding you together

The knots of hardness in your fingers

That move as if to some beat only

You hear;

To the snap and rotation of your wrist

And straight, smooth lines of

The arms you open.

In these arms I fit.

The indents of your collarbone

Against my face

The point of your chin

Resting firmly on the top of my hair

You shift, and the hollows of your face

Roll atop my head

The imperfect perfection of your nose

Inhaling my scent

As I inhale your scent through

The plates of your chest, over your heart.

The curve of your ribcage

Meeting the pieces of your spine,

Growing to become smooth

Shoulder blades

That roll as you adjust the

Grip on my hips.

Angles

So many angles you are made of

Long and short

Fierce and gentle

Hollow and grabbing

Radiating warmth and

Structure

Around me.

These are what you are made of

The bones under your skin

The sticks and stones

Knuckles

Blades

Joints

Angles

Making the familiar shape of your

Face

Both comforting and terrifying

Thrilling and calming

These are the shapes I

Dream of

The ones that tame

Darkness and bring

Warmth

Light

Safety.

Your angles

And mine

Match.

You were made for me

And perhaps I’ve been lucky enough

To have been made

For you.

6 thoughts on “Sneak Peak: THE NIGHT IS STARRY

Please, leave a comment!

